Human Library

I know, the title sounds like some B-list horror movie, but I promise, it’s not. No, the Human Library is literally that, an event put on the by the Government of Canada at the 2016 Innovation Fair, whereby public servants lucky enough to attend the event were invited to “sign-out” various experts in order to better understand different government roles.

Screen Shot 2016-07-01 at 7.15.42 PM.png

There’s a waiting list…

In their own words, “The Human Library will provide participants with an interactive networking opportunity to learn about the diverse experiences of public servants. Enabling public servants to ‘check-out’ a human book and share their experiences with one another will help build relationships and break down stereotypes contributing towards a healthier and more respectful workplace.”

This is the best darn idea I’ve ever heard, and it got me thinking about the types of humans I’d like to check out:

Astronauts! My childhood dream job, I find astronaut-ing interesting and magical! I’d love to sign-out an astronaut for an hour and pick her brain about the view, zero-gravity, homesickness, and the rigorous amount of work required to prevent the onset of madness.

Screen Shot 2016-07-01 at 7.16.58 PM.png

We’d laugh. We’d cry.

Giller Prize Winners! My adult dream job (LOL), I’ve long fantasized about accepting this weird statue and the $100,000 cheque (I hope it’s one of those huge lottery-style ones!). I’d ask him about his methods, his sacrifices, and what I should wear when I accept mine.

Screen Shot 2016-07-01 at 7.23.39 PM

That thumbs up is because I chose the correct outfit.

Hockey Players! Because, um, well, uh…

Screen Shot 2016-07-01 at 7.32.36 PM.png

I need tips on stick handling?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

