Psst

As we’ve already established, I’m in love with Vice. A few months back (I’m catching up, people!), the UK edition pointed out that 350(!) libraries in the UK have closed in the last 6 years (with 111 more due to close in 2017), costing over 8000 people their jobs, and diminishing some of the last free community spaces left in the country. In an era where the ignorant often chime in with the helpful “just google it!”, Vice asked several people what they were doing at the library.

Screen Shot 2016-07-01 at 7.05.40 PM.png

What does it look like I’m doing?

What do we do at the library? I don’t know about you, but I like to leaf through magazines, especially the preposterous and pretentious Toronto Life. I also like to skim the fiction section and read the synopses written on the backs of the books (or the inside front cover, one of my greatest pet peeves). Yesterday, as per a class assignment, I tried to look busy while I eavesdropped on some children’s programming. Basically, anything goes. What do you like to do at the library?

 

 

Leave a Reply

